top of page

Challenging the Conventions: Layout (week5)

Blog post #1

Hello again!

So I think I've come to that point where I just have so many ideas and I really need to narrow them all down to the important things. So my biggest questions are the following:

How will I challenge magazine norms?

Well first, let's define what "magazine norms" are. According to Magazine Designing, magazines the following elements are completely essential to a magazine:

-cover page

-ad

-table of contents

-impressum

-editor's letter

-section start

-feature well

-back of the book (shorter articles, news listings, remaining columns, horscopes, etc.)

-classified ads

-columnist essay

-ad on back (most expensive)

So now, I can take a look at an overall scheme of the normal magazine and figure out... HOW can I change these norms into something better for my own magazine?

MLA:

Nikola. "Structure of the Magazine." Magazine Designing, 13 October 2013. Web. http://www.magazinedesigning.com/magazine-page-elements/


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search by Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page